You are here

In the News

Dr. Jim O'Brien
Mon, 2013/04/29 - 12:07pm

Professor Emeritus Dr. Jim O’Brien was recently honored in the FSU College of Arts & Sciences Spectrum magazine.

Click here for the article.

Dr. Olivia Mason sampling in the Gulf of Mexico
Fri, 2013/04/26 - 9:55am

Congratulations to EOAS Professor Dr. Olivia Mason on earning a First Year Assistant Professor award of $20,000 to study Methane Cycling in the Aerobic Water Column in the Gulf of Mexico.

Alan Sealls, SKRG Chief Meteorologist & AMS Member, Board of Directors
Tue, 2013/04/23 - 1:16pm

Congratulations to WKRG Chief Meteorologist and FSU/EOAS alum Alan Sealls (MS, 1987) on winning the Alabama Broadcaster's Association's “Best in Broadcasting Award” for weather anchoring in 2012!

Mr. Seals has also won an Emmy for his work as a meteorologist at WMAQ-TV in Chicago, and is a past President of the Chicago Chapter of the AMS, as well as a current Board member.

Kyle Ahern receiving Marion Jewell Hay Award
Fri, 2013/04/19 - 2:56pm

Kyle Ahern receiving the Phi Beta Kappa Marion Jewell Hay Award as FSU President Eric Barron looks on. The award recognizes the top graduating student who has also conducted outstanding research. A reception followed at the President’s House.

Geology Club Dinner April 5, 2013
Fri, 2013/04/12 - 2:03pm

The EOAS Geology Club treated their faculty to dinner last Friday night.

This is also posted on our EOAS Facebook page, please tag yourself in the photo there.

Roger Revelle in Antarctica
Fri, 2013/04/12 - 12:25pm

In January 2010, a crew of scientists voyaged by ship from the southern tip of Chile into the Antarctic to search for clues to one of the great unknowns of climate change. Dr. Kevin Speer, EOAS professor and DIMES co-principal investigator, is using the data to refine eddy-resolving models of the ocean. The outcome of their simulations will help them tune eddy parameters in climate models of the entire Earth.

To read the article, click here.

Tue, 2013/04/09 - 10:44am

Chasing Ice Film Screening

Friday, April 19, 6:00 pm, All Saints Cinema (918 1/2 Railroad Ave., inside the Amtrak Building)

General admission is $8.00/person. TSF members and students with valid ID are $5.00/person.